All posts by Gored

Readers’ Choice: Best Tours of 2016

Queen Bey sits on the throne once again, topping Rap-Up’s Readers’ Choice list for Best Tours of 2016.

Beyoncé’s “Formation World Tour,” which also led the Editors’ Choice list in this category, was a fan favorite for several reasons. It followed the revealing and emotionally captivating LEMONADE LP, but it also provided a spectacular stage show to match the album’s dynamic spirit. As one reader put it, “‘Formation World Tour’ was epic no matter where you were sitting. Definitely an experience.”

Drake and Future’s “Summer Sixteen Tour” also received plenty of votes, arriving at No. 2. With illuminated spheres, Future’s pyrotechnics, and Drizzy’s flying mechanisms, it was certainly one of the year’s biggest tickets and one of its biggest crowd pleasers.

Following “Summer Sixteen” is Kanye West’s controversial but stunning “Saint Pablo Tour.” Though it ended with an abrupt cancelation well before its second leg, Yeezy still managed to dazzle fans with an innovative approach to stage design that had him performing on an elevated platform. The mosh pits and the eye-popping light beams that emanated from the stage helped make this one of 2016’s must-see shows.

Coming in at No. 4 is Rihanna’s “ANTI World Tour,” which also featured a compelling stage design, complete with a flying bridge. The run boasted special appearances from Drake and a fashion-forward, hit-making extravaganza from Bad Gal RiRi.

Rounding out the top 5 is ScHoolboy Q’s “Blank Face Tour.” The worldwide jaunt brought the Top Dawg MC’s critically-acclaimed Blank Face LP to life with street-wise bangers, deep cuts for loyalists, and plenty of energy from the Groovy one himself.

See the top 10 tours of 2016 as voted by you below.

Readers’ Choice: Best Tours of 2016

1. Beyoncé – “Formation World Tour”
2. Drake & Future – “Summer Sixteen Tour”
3. Kanye West – “Saint Pablo Tour”
4. Rihanna – “ANTI World Tour”
5. ScHoolboy Q – “Blank Face Tour”
6. G-Eazy & Logic – “The Endless Summer Tour”
7. Justin Bieber – “Purpose World Tour”
8. Snoop Dogg & Wiz Khalifa – “The High Road Tour”
9. Adele – “Adele Live 2016”
10. Young Thug & 21 Savage – “HiHORSE’D TOUR”

Previous: Readers’ Choice: Best Music Videos of 2016


Stream Dom Kennedy’s Album ‘Los Angeles Is Not for Sale, Vol. 1’

Dom Kennedy reps the City of Angels on his latest album, Los Angeles Is Not For Sale Vol. 1.

With 15 laid-back Left Coast anthems, DK provides a soundtrack for his hometown and his home state. “California is for gangsters,” raps Kennedy on “California.” “Y’all out of town ni**as just don’t understand / We don’t got the same mindset or the same plans.”

Featuring appearances by Troy Nōka, Niko G4, Ricky Hill, and P-Lo, the project drops just weeks after Dom’s Half-a-Mil EP, which he released in conjunction with Hit-Boy.

This ode to the City of L.A. makes sense for Dom, who’s often shared his love for the city. “I was just a regular kid in L.A.,” he told Hot 97 last year. “I loved rap because I grew up in the times of–I’m a black kid in America. Wasn’t nothing special. Everybody could rap a little bit. So, at that time, if you would’ve came around and you said you was a rapper, I would’ve had something better than you. But that wouldn’t mean I was a rapper. I never considered myself a rapper…I started making music cause I didn’t like no music that was out. I didn’t hear no L.A. music. So, I put L.A. in the music industry.”

Head to L.A. with Dom Kennedy below.


Watch Mariah Carey’s Angelic Video for ‘Silent Night’

Mariah Carey makes it an “Unsilent Night” once again.

After headlining “VH1 Divas Holiday: Unsilent Night,” MC delivers a video for her angelic rendition of “Silent Night” through her new Mariah’s World website.

As snow falls delicately around her and a choir, Carey sings the holiday classic with her trademark vocals providing holiday cheer and serenity. Blending powerful notes with soothing ones, she stands in front of a piano wearing a stunning, sparkly white gown.

Performing in a North Pole setting, beautifully-lit Christmas trees are lined behind her, giving this visual an added glow. “The holiday season allows us a moment for reflection,” reads a note that accompanies the video on her site. “It’s a time to gather our thoughts, center our focus, express our gratitude and ponder the possibilities of the new year.”

Mariah released a version of “Silent Night” as part of her classic 1994 holiday album Merry Christmas, which also featured “All I Want for Christmas Is You.” The “Silent Night” video drops a day after “Here Comes Santa Clause (Right Down Santa Claus Lane).”

Get in the holiday spirit with another festive performance from Mimi.


New Music: Too $hort feat. Ty Dolla $ign, Jeremih, & French Montana – ‘Ain’t My Girlfriend’

In honor of his 30th year in the game, Too $hort has announced his new album, The Pimp Tape, set to drop March 10.

The cover art is a throwback to the days of cassette tapes. Featuring a portrait of a teenaged Short Dog, the artwork also includes an image of cash and that of a signed tape.

Released three decades after his debut album Born to Mack — which was available on cassette — The Pimp Tape is set to feature 17 fresh cuts from the Bay Area legend. As usual, the iconic spitter comes with a star-studded lineup of guests that includes G-Eazy, T.I., 2 Chainz, Snoop Dogg, E-40, and Jazze Pha.

Ahead of the release, Short teams with Ty Dolla $ign, Jeremih, and French Montana on “My Girlfriend.” Over a Yay Area bounce, Short rhymes about a woman while using his “favorite word.” “I seen a homie last night on some fly shit,” he raps. “Had the nerve to introduce me to my bitch / His main bitch is my side bitch / She stayed cool, acted like a side chick.”

The Pimp Tape, which follows 2012’s No Trespassing, is available for pre-order now.


Video: DeJ Loaf – ‘In Living Color (Oh Na Na)’

DeJ-ember continues. Carrying on with the festive month of exclusive content on her website, DeJ Loaf unveils a music video for the new track, “In Living Color (Oh Na Na).”

The colorful visual finds the All Jokes Aside MC in South Africa, surrounded by an awe-inspiring landscape. Featuring vibrant street scenes and breathtaking views, the clip also features a blend of boastful and thoughtful rhymes.

“Please stop gassin’ these [expletive] before I attack ’em,” raps Lil Loaf. “Came from the bottom, some days I cannot fathom / Went from the ‘jects to a mansion / Took every L, came back a champion.”

It’s been a big month for the Detroit spitter, who unleashed “Hold It Down” and the Kodak Black-assisted “All I Want for Christmas.” As part of DeJ-ember, she’s also provided photos, videos, interviews, notes, and giveaways to fans on her site.

Keep the DeJ-ember celebration going with “In Living Color (Oh Na Na)” and its stunning video below.